Land Acknowledgement

The Law Society Tribunal recognizes that its work, and the work of its community partners, takes place on traditional Indigenous territories across the province.  We acknowledge that there are 46 treaties and other agreements that cover the territory now called Ontario. We are thankful to be able to work and live in these territories. We are thankful to the First Nations, Métis and Inuit people who have cared for these territories and who continue to contribute to the strength of Ontario and to all communities across the province.  The Tribunal is honoured to collaborate with Indigenous clients, lawyers, paralegals, members of the public and communities throughout the various territories.

The Law Society Tribunal acknowledges that its office is located in Toronto and on the traditional territory of many nations including the Mississaugas of the Credit, the Anishnabeg, the Chippewa, the Haudenosaunee and the Wendat peoples and is now the home to many diverse First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples.  We also acknowledge that Toronto is covered by Treaty 13, signed with the Mississaugas of the Credit, and the Williams Treaties signed with multiple Mississaugas and Chippewa bands. As an independent adjudicative tribunal that processes, hears and decides regulatory cases about Ontario lawyers and paralegals, we make this acknowledgement in support of the necessary work of reconciliation.